領養

在香港,領養兒童受《領養條例》(第290章)監管。領養是透過法律程序和法庭頒令,一方面終止原本由親生父母就其未婚子女或18歲以下子女所擁有的合法父母身份,並同時把該合法父母身份轉移授予養父母(第13條)。領養須透過法庭命令執行(第4節),該等命令通常具永久效力,而且不能逆轉。
 
只有法庭、親屬、社會福利署署長或經署長認可的機構才可以安排兒童接受領養(第23A條)。另外,發佈領養兒童廣告(如宣傳某一孩子欲被領養)是違法行為(第23條)。至於「親屬」,是指跟孩子有全血親、半血親或姻親關係的祖父母、兄弟、姐妹、叔伯父母或舅姨父母(第2節)。目前,國際社會服務社、母親的選擇和保良局是獲社會福利署署長認可的機構(請參閱聯絡資料中有關領養的部份)。
 
領養的親屬如年滿21歲,可提出本地收養申請(第5(1)(b)節),並毋需進行適合性評估。至於非親屬領養或海外親屬領養,有關領養的申請人則須年滿25歲,並且必須由社會福利署署長或其認可機構進行適合性評估(第27條 及第29條)。
 
除非事前取得豁免(第6條),一般來說本地領養申請需取得將被安排領養的孩子的父母和監護人就有關領養安排的同意(第5條第5款及第29A或29B條)。經過其後的配對,將被領養的孩子會被安置和交托給準領養父母。至於海外收養的方式,有關申請安排方式大致與本地領養相同(第29C條)。
 
最後,法庭將決定是否頒佈領養令;有關考慮因素包括﹕法庭必須確信該等領養安排已獲得有關的監護人和孩子父母的同意、該等收養安排將符合被領養孩子的最佳利益、準領養人是擔任收養父母的適當人選,並且有關領養安排不涉及款項交易或報酬(第8節)。 在香港以外地方所作的領養,
 
可根據第17條和第20F條在香港取得合法效力和承認。

For more information on adoption, including the latest leading cases, see the relevant pages of Duxbury Etc.

adoption

Adoption in Hong Kong is governed by the Adoption Ordinance, Cap 290. Adoption vests legal parenthood in adoptive parents over an unmarried child or children under 18 years of age, and brings an end to all legal parenthood otherwise vested in natural parents (section 13). It is effected by order of the court (section 4) and it is generally permanent and irreversible.
 
Adoptions may only be arranged by the court, relatives, the Director of Social Welfare or bodies accredited by the Director (section 23A). It is an offence to advertise a child for adoption (section 23). A ‘relative’ is a child’s grandparent, brother, sister, uncle or aunt, including by half-blood or affinity (section 2). Presently, International Social Services, Mother’s Choice and Po Leung Kuk are accredited (see Adoption in the Contacts list in Duxbury Etc).
 
Relatives may adopt locally from the age of 21 (section 5(1)(b)) and need not undertake a suitability assessment, whereas non-relatives and relatives who wish to complete an intercountry adoption must be 25 years of age and must apply for a suitability assessment (section 27) to be conducted by the Director or an accredited body (section 29).
In the case of a local adoption, the consent of parents and guardians, which is generally required (section 5(5)) will then be obtained (section 29A or 29B), unless it has been dispensed with (section 6). The child and prospective adoptive parents will be placed and matched together. Intercountry adoptions proceed in much the same way (section 29C).
 
Ultimately the court will determine whether an adoption order should be made, and must be satisfied that requisite guardian and parent consent has been obtained, that adoption would be in the child’s best interests, that the adoptive parents are fit and proper persons and that no payment or reward has been exchanged (section 8).
Foreign adoptions may be recognised in Hong Kong under sections 17 and 20F.

For more information on adoption, including the latest leading cases, see the relevant pages of Duxbury Etc.