子女管養權

根據《未成年人監護條例》(第13章)《分居令及贍養令條例》(第16章)、《婚姻訴訟條例》(第179章),以及《婚姻法律程序與財產條例》(第192章),家事法庭在處理兒童福利事宜方面擁有的廣泛司法管轄權。此外,高等法院根據其固有司法管轄權 (inherent jurisdiction),也同樣就兒童事宜擁有十分廣泛的權力,當中包括監護權。

一般而言,就父母雙親之間糾紛,法庭關注的是子女管養權、照顧與管束權,以及探視權的頒令。法庭頒佈這些方面的命令時,會把之與撫養子女的經濟責任(即「贍養費」) 分開處理。探視權是與子女接觸和聯絡的權利﹕探視可以在沒有監督或需要受監督的情況下進行(例如考慮到有關探視對子女有影響);其中可以沒有特定的探視時間規限,(如「合理」或「慷慨」探視),又或只能在指定的時段下才可探視(即在探視命令中,有列明特定的探視時段);並有分為留宿(過夜)或日間探視。照顧與管束權,就是對子女的日常生活事宜作決定的權利。這種權利與「共同照顧」和主要照顧者的概念不同,不應該互相混淆。管養權,則是為子女作出對其有重要影響的決定的權利。一般來說,在「單獨管養」(sole custody) 的情況下,只有父或母一方獲得這權利,而假若是「共同管養」(joint custody) 的話,這權利則由父母雙方共享 (見PD 訴 KWW(共同管養、照顧與管束) [2010] 4 HKLRD 191; [2010] HKCA 172)。

由始至終,法庭以兒童的福利(或「最佳利益」(best interest))作為首要的考慮因素,此被稱為福利原則(見第13章第3節)。法庭在判斷兒童的最佳利益時,一般會按福利清單作考慮,即是﹕該兒童可查明的願望和感受(這方面將會按該兒童的年齡和理解能力來考慮);該兒童的身心和教育需求;若改變該兒童的現況而可能對他/她所造成的影響;該兒童的年齡、性別、背景以及法庭認為該兒童的任何特質;該兒童已遭受的任何傷害或有可能遭受傷害的風險;該兒童的父、母以及法庭認為的其他有關人士,各有多大能力滿足該兒童的需要;法院在有關法律程序中可以行使的權力範圍。此外,作為一般原則,任何延誤都被法庭視為可能損害兒童福利的因素(見H 訴 N [2012] 5 HKLRD 498; [2012] HKCFI 1533)。

為支持母、父親,並保障兒童的最佳利益,法庭採用了實務指示15.13,並實行排解子女糾紛(Children’s Dispute Resolution,CDR)計劃。該計劃適用於幾乎所有關於子女糾紛的爭議,並規定除非法庭另有命令,雙方必須把有關子女糾紛的爭議提交CDR程序。該計劃的第一階段,是在法官席前進行初步指示聆訊(即關於子女的約見(Children’s Appointment)。之後,雙方須就子女糾紛交換一系列經簡化的專用文件,包括關於子女事宜的表格((附於實務指示15.13的「表格J」)。然後,法庭會就案件處理發出進一步指示;在大多數情況下,法庭會命令在案件審訊之前,展開排解子女糾紛聆訊 (CDR聆訊)。排解子女糾紛聆訊是一種替代性爭議解決方式(「ADR」),其時雙方將有機會在法官面前演練他們的論點;而法官在CDR聆訊中作為調停人,也可能就各方的論點給指示,嘗試調解糾紛及促成協議。

For more information on custody, including updated information on schools and our childhood timeline, see the relevant pages of Duxbury Etc.

child custody

The family courts have broad jurisdiction to deal with the welfare of children under the provisions of the Guardianship of Minors Ordinance (Cap 13), the Separation and Maintenance Orders Ordinance (Cap 16), the Matrimonial Causes Ordinance (Cap 179) and the Matrimonial Property and Proceedings Ordinance (Cap 192). Additionally, the High Court’s has broad powers under its inherent jurisdiction including wardship.

In parental disputes, generally the courts are concerned with making orders for custody, care and control, and access. These orders are distinct from questions of financial responsibility for children (i.e. ‘maintenance’). Access is the right to have contact with the child, it may be unsupervised or supervised (i.e. where there are concerns about the impact of contact on the child); undefined (sometimes ‘reasonable’ or ‘generous’) or defined (i.e. at times specified in the order); staying (a.k.a. overnight) or ‘day-time’. Care and control is the right to make day-to-day decisions about the child; it should not be confused with “shared care” and the notion of the primary caregiver. Custody is the right to make all important decisions affecting the child and it is generally awarded to one parent (“sole custody”) or shared between both parents (“joint custody”): see PD v KWW (Joint Custody, Care and Control) [2010] 4 HKLRD 191; [2010] HKCA 172.

The paramount consideration for the court is always the welfare (or ‘best interests’) of the child, this is known as the Welfare Principle (see section 3 of Cap 13). In determining the best interests of the child, the court will generally have regard to the Welfare Checklist, i.e. the ascertainable wishes and feelings of the child concerned (considered in the light of the child’s age and understanding); the physical, emotional and educational needs of the child; the likely effect on the child of any change in the child’s circumstances; the child’s age, sex, background and any characteristics of the child’s which the court considers relevant; any harm the child has suffered or is at risk of suffering; how capable each of the parents, and any other person in relation to whom the court considers the question to be relevant, is of meeting the child’s needs; the range of powers available to the court in the proceedings in question; and the general principle that any delay is likely to prejudice the welfare of the child: see H v N [2012] 5 HKLRD 498; [2012] HKCFI 1533.

To support mothers and fathers and ensure the best interests of children, the courts have adopted Practice Direction 15.13, which created the Children’s Dispute Resolution (CDR) scheme. The scheme applies to almost all disputed children’s matters, and provides that disputes must be submitted to the CDR procedure unless the court orders otherwise. The first stage of the scheme is a preliminary directions hearing before a judge (the Children’s Appointment), preceded by the exchange of a series of simplified and children-specific documents including a Form J (i.e. ‘Children’s Form’) (attached to Practice Direction 15.13), a sworn statement relating to the arrangements for children. The court will then make directions for the further conduct of the case and in most circumstances order a CDR hearing before referring the matter to trial. The CDR hearing is a form of alternative dispute resolution (‘ADR’), where the parties will have a chance to rehearse their arguments before the judge, who may give indications about her/his approach, and who will try to conciliate between parties to achieve settlement.

For more information on custody, including updated information on schools and our childhood timeline, see the relevant pages of Duxbury Etc.