達克斯伯里計算器 - 定期付款轉化為整筆付款

當離婚雙方或法庭希望雙方可以「一刀兩斷」地徹底解除雙方的財務關係,可採用達克斯伯里計算方式(Duxbury calculation),把持續的定期付款轉化為一筆過的整筆付款。 這情況下,達克斯伯里計算方式將預計受款的一方會把其收取的一筆過款項用作資本投資,以滿足他/她的定期需要;而當受款方的預期需求(通常指受款方的生命)完結時,該筆一次過款項也被完全耗盡。這具開創性的計算方式以英國案例Duxbury v Duxbury [1987] 1 FLR 7(CA)中的訟訴雙方而命名;而香港法院自案例C v C [1990] 2 HKLR 183起採用至今。有關因應香港的情況而應用此計算方法的原則,詳情可參閱陳偉漢教授和陳偉森教授於2014年5月於《香港律師》發表的文章
儘管達克斯伯里計算方式看似相對簡單,但箇中取決於採用適當的貼現率。就此,法庭必須在考慮當下的經濟格局以及合理投資組合內的適當組成因素才作定奪。
貼現率是指高於價格通脹的回報率。因此,何謂合適的貼現率取決於三個主要因素:(1)預計的支付年期(例如預期壽命);(2)若作為謹慎的受款者,其應接受的投資組合組成部分;及(3) 該投資組合的過往表現。 通貨膨脹可能導致貼現率為負數。 就此,高等法院已一宗人身傷害訴訟中,詳細列出設定貼現率的考慮因素(見Chan Pak Ting 訴 Chan Chi Kuen (No 2) [2013] 2 HKLRD 1)。
 
達克斯伯里計算方式是一種迭代式計算,通常用於估計一個人在其預計壽命年期或某固定年期內,用以支持自己所需開支的金額(「資本金額」)。 這是根據以下前設而計算的:
a) 該人將這筆金額投資於投資組合,透過資本增長和投資收益,以滿足其開支所需;
b) 該投資組合可以隨時兌換成現金,以支持所需支出;
c) 所需的支出已按通貨膨脹調整;
d) 預計有關資本金額將在該人的預計壽命年期或某固定年期結束時 (例如﹕直到該人年滿18歲) ,完全耗盡;和
e) 在該人的預計壽命年期或某固定年期,該人所需開支和投資組合將維持不變。
 
進行達克斯伯里計算時,必須估算以下幾個變數:
  1. 預計壽命年期;
  2. 通貨膨脹率;
  3. 投資組合;以及
  4. 需要支出
一個人的預期壽命年期可以參考由香港政府統計處製作的香港人口生命表。 一般而言,同齡女性的預期壽命比男性高,她們因而需要更高的資本金額來應付額外年期的開支。

duxbury formula

 

Duxbury Tables for 2019 are reproduced in Duxbury Etc (PDF) and bespoke calculations can be obtained from expert forensic accountants. 

Alternatively, users can produce their own calculations using the simplified Duxbury Formula and multiplier tables below:

The formula:

A (multiplier) x B (desired monthly payment x 12) = L (lump sum)

A can be determined through standard multiplier tables (PDF) by reference to the appropriate discount rate for the expected period of payment (e.g. 3.5% over 12 years is 9.66).

B is determined by the annualised expected needed monthly payment excluding the impact of inflation (as inflation is accounted for in the discount rate).

The most updated data for life expectancy and inflation in Hong Kong can be retrieved from the Census and Statistics Department Website (Life Tables and Consumer Price indices). Historical yields for prudent portfolio of investment will depend upon the period of investment. Reference may be made to various tracker funds: e.g. Tracker Fund of Hong Kong.

introduction to duxbury

The Duxbury calculation is used where parties or the court want to avoid on-going periodical payments, in favour of a ‘clean break’.  Instead of periodical payments, the recipient party is given a lump sum, and is expected to invest it as capital to cover their periodical needs.  The lump sum is itself exhausted over time, so that at the end of the expected needs (normally the life of the recipient) the capital is totally exhausted.  This calculation is named after the parties in the seminal English case of Duxbury v Duxbury [1987] 1 FLR 7 (CA), which has been adopted by the Hong Kong courts since C v C [1990] 2 HKLR 183. For further reading on the principles applied to Hong Kong conditions, see Felix Chan & Wai-sum Chan’s article in the May 2014 edition of the Hong Kong Lawyer.
Although Duxbury calculations are relatively simple, they are dependent upon the appropriate discount rate, which must be determined by the court having regard to the current economic landscape, and the appropriate constituents of a reasonable portfolio.
The discount rate is the rate of return exceeding price inflation. Therefore, the appropriate discount rate will depend upon three main factors: (1) the expected time over which it will be paid out (e.g. life expectancy); (2) the constituents of the investment portfolio that a prudent recipient should invest in; and (3) the historical performance of such a portfolio. Inflation can cause the discount rate to be negative. The High Court has set out the considerations for setting discount rates in greater detail in the personal injuries case of Chan Pak Ting v Chan Chi Kuen (No 2) [2013] 2 HKLRD 1.
A Duxbury Calculation is an iterative calculation, which is typically used to estimate the monetary amount a person requires to support themselves for the remainder of their life, or a fixed time period (the “Capital Sum”). This is computed on the basis of the following:
  1. The person would invest this amount in an investment portfolio to achieve capital growth and income from the investments, which would be used to satisfy the required expenditure;
  2. The investment portfolio can be readily liquidated into cash to support the required expenditure;
  3. The expenditure required is adjusted for inflation;
  4. The sum is assumed to be exhausted at the end of the life of the person or a fixed time period (e.g. until a person reaches the age of 18); and
  5. The investment portfolio and expenditure required is constant for the remainder of the life of the person.
 
There are several variables that must be estimated to compute a Duxbury Calculation, which include:
  1. life expectancy,
  2. inflation rate,
  3. investment portfolio, and
  4. expenditure required.
 
A person’s life expectancy is estimated using the Hong Kong Life Tables, which are produced by the Hong Kong Census and Statistics Bureau. In general, a woman of the same age will have a higher life expectancy than a man, which will result in a higher Capital Sum to account for the extra years of expenditure.

duxbury formula

 

Duxbury Tables for 2019 are reproduced in Duxbury Etc (PDF) and bespoke calculations can be obtained from expert forensic accountants. 

Alternatively, users can produce their own calculations using the simplified Duxbury Formula and multiplier tables below:

The formula:

A (multiplier) x B (desired monthly payment x 12) = L (lump sum)

A can be determined through standard multiplier tables (PDF) by reference to the appropriate discount rate for the expected period of payment (e.g. 3.5% over 12 years is 9.66).

B is determined by the annualised expected needed monthly payment excluding the impact of inflation (as inflation is accounted for in the discount rate).

The most updated data for life expectancy and inflation in Hong Kong can be retrieved from the Census and Statistics Department Website (Life Tables and Consumer Price indices). Historical yields for prudent portfolio of investment will depend upon the period of investment. Reference may be made to various tracker funds: e.g. Tracker Fund of Hong Kong.