離婚

根據《婚姻訴訟規則》(第179A章)第12(1)條,要開展離婚的法律程序,須向區域法院(家事法庭)提交呈請書或共同申請書。一般而言,締結婚姻的地點(如在香港以外的地方)並不重要。除非特殊而極度苦困的情況下,由結緍當日起計未滿一年之前不可以提出離婚;然而,離婚呈請書內可以陳述結婚第一年內發生的事,作為提出離婚的基礎(《婚姻訴訟條例》(第179章)第12條)。

向家事法庭登記處提交呈請書或共同申請書時,應連同第179A章第12條所規定的文件一併提交,包括﹕關於子女安排的陳述書(表格2B或2D)、訴訟程序通知書(表格3),以及文件送達認收書(表格4)。另外,呈請的一方需帶同呈請書或共同申請書副本多份並索取法庭蓋印副本,用以送交予答辯配偶/離婚訴訟的其他各方。

向答辯配偶/離婚訴訟的其他各方(即答辯人)送交呈請書及其他隨附文件時,如呈請人有律師代表,應由透過其律師代表送達文件。送達呈請書等文件的方法,可以是(i)親身面交,或(ii)用普通郵遞送交(第179A章第14(1)條);然而,呈請人本身則不可以把這些文件親身面交答辯人(第14(3)條)。一般來說,要證明呈請書等文件已送交答辯人,可以透過由答辯配偶或其律師代表簽署並交回家事法庭登記處的文件送達認收書來確認;又或,由代表呈請人送交文件予答辯一方的人,向法庭提交一份誓章,陳述其親身面交有關文件予答辯人的詳情(規則第14(5)和(7)條)。如果呈請的一方可以證明答辯的一方已收到了文件,並使法庭信納有關其事,法庭可批予命令,指示該等文件已被視為送達(deemed service) (規則第14(6)條)。如果呈請的一方已作出真正的努力,但仍未能切實可行地把有關文件送達予答辯人,則可通過誓章向法庭提出單方面申請,要求批予替代送達(substituted service)命令(規則第14(9)至(10)條)。然而,若有關替代送達命令是用不恰當的手法向法庭取得,法庭則可撤銷有關的離婚判令(FHFK訴NCM [2008] 5 HKC 355; [2008] HKCA 254)。只有在例外情況,呈請的一方才可以在沒有法庭許可的情況下,把呈請書等文件送達到香港司法管轄區以外的地方(第179A章第109條)。在極罕有的情況下,法庭才會免除送達呈請書等文件的規定。在把呈請書送交答辯人之前的任何時候,呈請人可以發出終止通知書,撤消其離婚呈請(第179A章第7條)。

只在下列情況下,香港的家事法庭才具有司法管轄權,處理在香港提出的離婚訴訟﹕婚姻的任何一方(1)在呈請書的日期或有關申請當日,以香港為居籍(domicile);(2)在緊接呈請書的日期或有關申請當日之前的整整三年內,以香港為慣常居住地 (habitual residence);或,(3) 在呈請書的日期或有關申請當日,跟香港具有實質聯繫 (substantial connection) (第179章第3條)。 這些概念的涵意,可參考 ZC 訴 CN [2014] 5 HKLRD 43; [2014] HKCA 389

《居籍條例》(第596章)界定了何謂居籍 (domicile)。 所有人在任何時間,都有一個居籍。幾乎所有在香港出生但未又永久遷移到在其他地方的人,均以香港為居籍(第57條)。 假如是合法地身處香港,並打算無限期地以香港為家(第5和第6條),即使是外籍人士也可取得香港居籍。

慣常居住地 (habitual residence) 是指一個人自願在該地居住,或把他的家、居留地、居所、住所安置在的地方。慣常居住地不受旅行或商務出差的影響。一個人可能擁有一個或以上的慣常居住地;而且,他不需要永久逗留在該地方,才能使之成為他的慣常居住地。

實質聯繫(substantial connection) 不是技術用語。反之,顧名思義,它含義比居藉和慣常居住地更廣泛,並高度依賴每宗案件其個別實質情況而論。 因此,要判斷一個人是否與香港有關係,要考慮很多因素;而法庭也會以該人與香港之間這些關係,作為考慮法庭是否會假設對有關離婚訴訟行使司法管轄權的指導因素。 就此,香港並不必需是那個與當事人最具實質聯繫的地方;而把當事人跟不同地方之間的聯繫作比較,也並不合適(B 訴 A [2008] 1 HKLRD 43; [2007] HKCFI 934)。 這些實質聯繫通常是個人化的、與婚姻有關的,而非僅僅是商業性質的聯繫(Z 訴 Z [2012] HKFLR 346; [2012] HKCFI 2117)。 持有香港身份證、在香港結婚,並曾在香港工作等因素,將有助證明當事人跟香港有實質聯繫(YS 訴 TTWD [2012] HKFLR 129; [2012] HKFC 6)。

即使法庭可能擁有司法管轄權,但若然外國的法院比香港的法院更清楚或明顯地適合處理有關離婚訴訟,而且呈請一方的合法個人或司法優勢又不會因此而被剝奪的話,香港的法庭可以就有關離婚訴訟拒絕行使其司法管轄權(SPH 訴 SA (2014) 17 HKCFAR 364; [2014] HKCFA 56 [51])。

離婚的唯一理由是婚姻已破裂至無可挽救(第179章第11條)。然而,只有能夠證明下列五項的其中一項事實情況,法庭才會頒佈離婚令(第179章第11A條)。 這五個事實情況通常被慣稱為離婚的「理由」, 它們是﹕(1)答辯人曾與人通姦,呈請人因而無法容忍與被告人共同生活;(2)答辯人的行為,已使呈請人無法合理地期望與答辯人共同生活;(3)在緊接離婚呈請提出前,雙方已經分居最少連續一年,並且答辯人同意離婚;(4)無論被答辯人是否同意離婚,在緊接離婚呈請提出前,雙方已經分居最少連續兩年;(5)在緊接離婚呈請提出前,答辯人已遺棄呈請人最少連續一年。 在共同申請中,唯一適合而可用的是第(3)項事實,即雙方在申請離婚前已經分居一年並且雙方同意離婚(第179章第11B條)。

 

呈請書和共同申請書應包含申請離婚所依據的事實詳情。 雖然上述第(1)至(3)項事實是基於婚姻雙方的行為,但法庭的角色從來不是裁斷導致婚姻破裂的責任誰屬(BCA 訴 IOF [2006] HKCA 683 [13]),而這也跟哪方該受責備一樣,無關重要(Owens 訴 Owens [2018] AC 899, [2018] UKSC 41 [49])。

至於建基於上述第(2)項與行為有關的離婚呈請,答辯人有關的行為本身並不必需要是不合理的,而是關於其與呈請人共同生活時的行為(Owens [37],[47])。答辯人行為的合理性與離婚兩者並沒有因果關係,即行為本身並不是造成婚姻破裂的原因(Owens [41],[49])。 反之,法庭會考慮:(1)按照呈請書中的陳述,答辯人究竟做了些什麼;(2)在所有情況下,答辯人所作的事對呈請人有何影響;以及(3)是否由於答辯人的行為和其效果,期望呈請人與答辯人共同生活是否不合理(Owens [28],[47],[55]);而這些期望,又是否會隨著時間流逝而符合社會和道德價值觀,再而變得合理(Owens [30] - [33],[47])。

時至今日,以「非常溫和」或「無指控式」的方法來草擬呈請書是非常「恰當的」做法。這樣,用較溫和的方式去陳述行為事實,既滿足法例的要求,同時也有助促使答辯人在訴訟過程中更願意合作。(然而,在Owens一案中,有關的行為事實陳述必須足以證明該等行為是不合理的。)

根據《婚姻法律程序與財產條例》(第192章)第18(1)條,法庭在就子女的福利安排作出「第18條聲明」(section 18 declaration)之前,不能頒佈絕對離婚判令。這聲明共有四類﹕(1)沒有家庭子女;(2)有關家庭中每個孩子的福利安排是令人滿意的,或是「當時情況下可能作出的最佳安排」;(3)任何一方或雙方都不可能做出這些安排,或(4)基於有關情況,法庭宜應毫不遲延地作出判令或將判令轉為絕對判令,並且因為法庭已取得令人滿意的承諾,同意會在指明的期間內把相關兒童的安排問題提交法庭處理。如欲反對就以上第(2)或(3)聲明的申請,必須憑藉與兒童有關的事項作理據;如反對的理由只涉及與行為或健康相關的因素,而該等因素又不影響兒童的事宜,則不能視之為充份理據(TLS nee J 訴 RCS [2013] HKFC 74 [24]-[40])。

家庭子女是指(1)雙方的親生(包括非婚生子女)或領養子女;或(2)被雙方視為該家庭子女的任何其他子女(第2(1)18(5)條)第192章)。 如何判斷某兒童是否被視為家庭子女是一個涉及廣泛客觀事實的問題,需要按有關個案的所有情況來決定,包括孩子住在哪裡、誰供養孩子、誰行使責罰孩子的權力,以及曾否聲稱對孩子有責任(LNL 訴 HPYA [2016] 3 HKLRD 261; [2016] HKFC 51 [11]-[14])。

如果答辯人對離婚沒有提出抗辯,該離婚訴訟將被分配到特別程序表;如果符合相關事項的規定,法庭將在毋須當事人出席的公開聆訊上頒布暫准判令(實務指示15.4)。

如果離婚呈請是上述第(3)或(4)項事實而要求法庭頒令,即雙方已分居,答辯人則可另外向法庭提出申請,以確保法院在頒佈絕對離婚令時,信納答辯人的經濟狀況不會因此而受到損害(第179章第17A條)。

在法庭頒佈暫准離婚令的日期起計六星期後,呈請人可以根據第179A章第65條向家事法庭登記署提交表格5,申請把暫准離婚令轉為絕對離婚令。 如呈請人沒有在適時提出申請,答辯人則可在三個月後提出其申請(第179章第17(2)(a)(i)條)。 如有人對於把暫准離婚令轉為絕對離婚的申請提出抗辯,則只有在特殊情況下,並有人提出其所蒙受實質的經濟損害,法庭才會以公正和便利的方式為前題作處理(J 訴 V [2013] 1 HKLRD 203, [2012] HKCFI 1877 [29])。

若答辯的一方對離婚呈請提出抗辯,或提交出其交叉呈請書指稱婚姻因不同事實而破裂,該宗離婚訴訟則交付審訊階段。 然而,可以令人鬆一口氣的是,家事法的司法系統以協商和解決糾紛為基礎,並鼓勵各方在訴訟過程中的每個階段,包括直至審訊之前,盡力達成和解。

For more information on divorce, including the latest leading cases, see the relevant pages of Duxbury Etc.

divorce

Divorce is begun by petition or joint application to the District (Family) Court (rule 12(1) of the Matrimonial Causes Rules (Cap 179A). It generally does not matter that the marriage was celebrated abroad. Unless in the unusual case of exceptional hardship, divorce may not be begun until parties have been married for one year, although a petition can be based on facts that occurred within the first year (section 12 of the Matrimonial Causes Ordinance (Cap 179)).

A petition or joint application should be filed with the Family Court Registry together with the documents required by rule 12 of Cap 179A and copies for each party of the petition/application, Form 2B or 2D statement as to arrangements for children, and Form 3 notice of proceedings.

Service of the petition and accompanying documents should be effected on the respondent and each other party through solicitors if they are on record. They may be alternatively served personally or by ordinary post (rule 14(1) of Cap 179A), although personal service may not be performed by the petitioner themselves (rule 14(3)). Service is generally proved by an acknowledgment of service or affidavit showing personal service (rules 14(5) and (7)). An order for deemed service may be granted where the petitioner can show that the respondent has nevertheless received the documents (rule 14(6)). Where genuine efforts have been made and where service is impracticable, an order for substituted service may be granted on ex parte application by affidavit (rules 14(9) to (10). A decree is voidable and may be set aside where an order for substituted service is improperly obtained (FHFK v NCM [2008] 5 HKC 355; [2008] HKCA 254). By way of exception to the usual rule, service out of the jurisdiction is permitted without leave (rule 109 of Cap 179A). In rare cases service may also be dispensed with. At any time before service is effected, the petitioner may file a notice of discontinuance which will dismiss the cause (rule 7 of Cap 179A).

The court only has jurisdiction to deal with a divorce if at the date of the petition or application either party (1) is domiciled in Hong Kong, (2) has been habitually resident for the preceding three years, or (3) has a substantial connection to Hong Kong (section 3 of Cap 179). These concepts are helpfully explained in ZC v CN [2014] 5 HKLRD 43; [2014] HKCA 389.

Domicile is governed by the Domicile Ordinance (Cap 596). All persons have a single domicile at any given time. Almost all persons born in Hong Kong who have not permanently relocated elsewhere will be domiciled in Hong Kong (sections 5 and 7). Expatriates acquire Hong Kong as their domicile if they are lawfully present here and intend to make their home here for an indefinite period (sections 5 and 6).

A party’s habitual residence is her home, abode, dwelling or place of habitation where she has settled voluntarily. It is not affected by vacations or business trips. One may have more than one habitual residence and need not intend to remain permanently for this limb to be satisfied.

Substantial connection is not a technical term and is given an ordinary meaning, which is wider than both domicile and habitual residence and is highly fact sensitive. Accordingly, a broader range of factors relating to one’s connection to Hong Kong will be considered, and the court will additionally be guided by the question of whether the connection merits the court assuming jurisdiction over the divorce. Hong Kong need not be the place that one has the most substantial connection, and comparisons with connections elsewhere are inapposite (B v A [2008] 1 HKLRD 43; [2007] HKCFI 934). The connection should generally be personal and related to the marriage, and not merely commercial (Z v Z [2012] HKFLR 346; [2012] HKCFI 2117). Having a Hong Kong Identity card, having been married in Hong Kong and having worked here will assist a substantial connection claim (YS v TTWD [2012] HKFLR 129; [2012] HKFC 6).

The court may have jurisdiction but decline to exercise it in favour of a foreign court that is clearly or distinctly more appropriate than Hong Kong, and in which the petitioner will not be deprived of a legitimate personal or juridical advantage (SPH v SA (2014) 17 HKCFAR 364; [2014] HKCFA 56 [51]).

The sole ‘ground’ of divorce is that the marriage has broken down irretrievably (section 11 of Cap 179), though the court may only grant a decree where one of five facts are proven (section 11A of Cap 179). The five facts are often also referred to as ‘grounds’ of divorce. They are that (1) the respondent has committed adultery and the petitioner finds it intolerable to live with the respondent (2) the respondent has behaved in such a way that the petitioner cannot reasonably be expected to live with the respondent (3) the parties have lived apart for one year and the respondent consents (4) the parties have lived apart for two years regardless of the respondent’s consent (5) the respondent has deserted the petitioner for one year. In a joint application the only fact (3) is available ie that the parties have lived apart for one year preceding the application and both parties consent (section 11B of Cap 179).

A petition and joint application should contain particulars of the facts relied upon. Although facts (1) to (3) are conduct based, it is never the court’s role to apportion parties’ responsibilities for a broken marriage (BCA v IOF [2006] HKCA 683 [13]) which, like blame, are irrelevant (Owens v Owens [2018] AC 899, [2018] UKSC 41 [49]).

In a petition based on fact (2) behaviour, it is not the behaviour itself that has to be unreasonable, but rather living with the respondent (Owens [37], [47]) and the two are not causally connected ie the behaviour does not have to have caused the breakdown (Owens [41], [49]). Rather the court will ask (1) what the respondent did, by reference to the allegations in the petition (2) what effect that behaviour had on the petitioner in all the circumstances and then (3) evaluate whether as a result of the behaviour and in light of its effect, it would be unreasonable to expect the petitioner to live with the respondent (Owens [28], [47], [55]).  Whether such an expectation is reasonable changes over time, in line with social and moral values (Owens [30]-[33], [47]).

Today it is ‘very proper’ to draft ‘very moderate’ or anodyne petitions that invoke ‘fact (2)’ behaviour using mild particulars in order to satisfy the statute but nonetheless obtain the respondent’s cooperation (although, as seen in Owens, the facts must be sufficient to prove unreasonable behaviour).

The court cannot make a decree nisi absolute until it has made a ‘section 18 declaration’ regarding children under section 18(1) of the Matrimonial Proceedings and Property Ordinance (Cap 192)). There are four declarations that permit a grant. They are that (1) there are no children of the family (2) satisfactory or ‘best in the circumstances’ arrangements have been made for the welfare of each child of the family (3) it is impracticable for either or both parties to make such arrangements, or (4) other circumstances make it desirable for a decree nisi or absolute to be made without delay, and satisfactory undertaking(s) have been obtained to bring the question of the children’s arrangements before the court within a specified time. Opposition to an application for declarations (2) or (3) should be made on the basis of matters that relate to the children only, and will not suffice where they concern conduct or health where those matters to not affect the children (TLS nee J v RCS [2013] HKFC 74 [24]-[40]).

A child of the family is either (1) a biological (including illegitimate) or adopted child of both parties or (2) another child treated by both parties as a child of the family (sections 2(1) and 18(5) of Cap 192). Whether a child is ‘treated as’ a child of the family is a broad question of objective fact to be decided by looking at all the circumstances of the case, including where the child lives, who pays for the child, who exercises discipline and whether responsibilities are claimed (LNL v HPYA [2016] 3 HKLRD 261; [2016] HKFC 51 [11]-[14]).

If the divorce is not contested it will be assigned to the special procedure list and if matters are in order, and the petitioner has filed the affidavit in support of the petition swearing or affirming that the contents of the petition is true, a decree nisi will be pronounced in open court, at a hearing that the parties need not attend (Practice Direction 15.4).

Where a decree nisi is made on facts (3) or (4) ie that the parties are separated, the respondent may additionally apply to ensure that the court is satisfied that the respondent will be not be financially prejudiced by the making of a decree absolute (section 17A of Cap 179).
 

Six weeks after the decree nisi the petitioner may apply under rule 65 of Cap 179A for the decree to be made absolute, by lodging Form 5 with the Registrar. In default the respondent may apply after three months (section 17(2)(a)(i) of Cap 179). On a contested application for an order to be made absolute the court will be guided by what is just and convenient, but will require exceptional circumstances to be alleged in opposition, and financial prejudice to be real (J v V [2013] 1 HKLRD 203, [2012] HKCFI 1877 [29]).

Where a divorce is defended or a cross petition filed alleging that the marriage has broken down by reference to a different fact, the matter will ultimately proceed to trial. It is ‘admirable’ however that the family justice system is based on compromise and settlement and that parties are encouraged to settle at every stage of the cause up to and including contested hearings.

For more information on divorce, including the latest leading cases, see the relevant pages of Duxbury Etc.